< Previous | Contents | Next >

Retention

Every object has a retention setting. This setting determines how long the object must remain in the bucket before it can be deleted. This can range from allowing the object to be deleted at any time to preventing the object from ever being deleted. While an object cannot be deleted due to retention, it is said to be under retention.


You cannot use the HS3 API to change the retention setting for an object. However, you can use other namespace access protocols to change it.


 

Default retention settingHold